Snow begins to fall

The mountains are turning white

Tomorrow I ride

I am so excited for tomorrow that I crafted that nifty little Haiku for you.  Yes tomorrow is the day.  Well technically today–I just noticed that it is after midnight.  A quick look at the weather forecast shows me that by morning Loveland Ski Area is expected to have 10 to 14 inches of fresh snow.  In addition snow is expected to fall all day with total accumulations of up to 25 inches.  Life is good.

Oh and a special thanks to my wife.  Today I bought a new Thule ski/snowboard roof rack.  I spent time in the garage this evening in a state of bliss as I mounted the racks to the top of my SUV.  There is something about a roof rack on an SUV that makes it look more rugged, aggressive, and mean.  After carefully adjusting every nut and bolt, I tested it out by loading my new snowboards up and locking them in place.  I stepped back to admire my mean SUV and I was proud.  Later as I prepared to leave for work, my wife stepped into the garage.  Her keen sense of detail pointed out a minor problem with my studly new roof rack–there was no way it was going to clear the garage door.  So I did what any man would do in this situation.  I took the garage door off its track and used my sledge-hammer to create an extra foot of height.  Okay, Okay.  I took the roof rack off and boxed it up to take back to the store.  Bummer.

Speaking of “bummer,” I inappropriately used this word the other day.  It had been a hectic morning at the hospital and I was the only tech in CT/MRI.  A patient in the ER was being discharged and requested that we put his CT images on a CD, so he could take them with him.  The system that we use to burn CDs for patients was not working, nor was the backup system.  After about 30 minutes and multiple attempts to create a CD for the patient, a nurse from the ER called to ask what was taking so long.  I told her we were having problems with the system.  She said, “Well it would have been nice if someone had told us. The patient has been waiting.”  I responded, “Bummer.”  I ma not sure why I said it–it just sort of slipped out.  The nurse wasn’t very happy with me.  Bummer.

Did I mention that in about 8 hours I will be snowboarding in over a foot of fresh snow?

Leave a comment