Archive for March 21, 2011

So usually when skepticism surrounds a particular subject, I side with the skeptics.  I tend not to believe something until I have proof in front of me.  I don’t believe in Big Foot, the Loch Ness monster, and until a few days ago didn’t believe in leprechauns.  Santa is up in the air, I am going to give him another shot at redemption this year.  Tooth Fairy, no.  Easter Bunny, no.  Charlie Sheen, well DUH! Winning!  Which leads me to UFOs.  I do believe that there are objects, that fly, and are not always identified.  So in a sense I believe in UFOs.  I am not convinced, however, that little green Martians fly them around.  Having said that I want to share with you some footage that was shot last night over Exempla Good Samaritan Medical Center, one of the hospitals that I work at.  You can form your own opinions after watching.  Keep in mind that this was witnessed by several people, including members of the Lafayette Police Department.  The following two links will take you to two different videos.  The second video contains more close up footage.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NBcgSMfVtcg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_PGHsjfbloI&feature=related

Are you a student?

Posted: March 21, 2011 in Funny Stuff, X-ray Vision
Tags: , ,

Amidst a recent Facebook post suggesting that “my wheels are falling off” as I approach 30, I have found my saving grace.  Despite any physical ailment that makes you feel old, a compliment, whether intentional or not, makes it all go away, if only for a little while. 

Background Info:

Yesterday on a Facebook post I mentioned that I felt like I was getting old, citing back pain, upcoming knee surgery, and the fact that I have been put on thyroid medication.

Picture retreived online from the Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants website.

At about 1:00 a.m. I am called to the ER for a patient with suspected appendicitis: a 22 year-old female with RLQ pain, fever, and loss of appetite today.  As I walk into her room to introduce myself, I find a relatively attractive brunette in pink sweats, slippers, and hospital gown lying on her stretcher, and her knight in shining armor boyfriend at her side.  She smiles.  He tenses up.  As I finish explaining who I am, and that I will be taking her down the hall for a CAT SCAN, I ask if there are any questions.  Only one:

Jealous boyfriend: “Can I come with?” 

(At this point I realize that this guy sees me as a threat, which is a compliment in itself I guess, because I am definitely not a threat.)

Me:  “Of course.  I can’t let you in the room during the scan, but you are welcome to come along.  There is a sitting area outside of the room.”

We walk down the hall to CT.  Boyfriend takes a seat in the waiting area and I roll the patient the rest of the way into the CT room and close the door.  As I get the patient positioned on my table, she asks, “So are you a student?”

I initially think to myself, “Crap.  Am I acting like I don’t know what I am doing or something?  Why would she think I am a student?”  I push the thought aside and say, “No, I have been doing this for like 7 or 8 years.”

Patient: “Wow!  You look so young.”

Me (smiling on the inside, and probably on the outside, too): “Thanks, I guess I’ll take that as a compliment.”

I suppose if an attractive 22 year-old female thinks I look young, the wheels aren’t falling off just yet.  Then again she had just been given morphine for her pain.   Crap!  I hadn’t thought of that until now.